Gin Kings dominate PBA All-Star voting

Japeth Aguilar and Scottie Thompson, the dynamic duo from Barangay Ginebra, have once again captured the attention of fans as they lead the initial round of voting for the 2024 PBA All-Star game in Bacolod.

Aguilar has emerged as the top choice among fans, securing an impressive total of 24,372 votes since the balloting procedure commenced on December 3rd.

Meanwhile, Thompson holds the second spot with 17,328 votes. It is worth noting that Aguilar and Thompson were also the top two vote-getters in last year’s All-Star game in Passi City, Iloilo, which earned them the privilege of being the captains for their respective teams in the weekend festivities.

Team Japeth emerged victorious over Team Scottie with a close score of 140-136.

Completing the Top 5 list are three more Gin Kings, namely Christian Standhardinger (15,400 votes), LA Tenorio (15,390 votes), and Jamie Malonzo (15,014 votes).

San Miguel’s June Mar Fajardo, a seven-time MVP, broke Brgy. Ginebra’s dominance by securing the sixth spot on the list with 14,912 votes. He was followed by two more Gin Kings, Maverick Ahanmisi (13,654) and Stanley Pringle (13,216).

The final two spots in the Top 10 were taken by San Miguel’s CJ Perez (11,432) and Arvin Tolentino of NorthPort (11,092).

24 players will be selected through fan voting, while the remaining members will be chosen by the media and the two coaches assigned to handle the All-Star teams.

The initial votes for the coaches who will lead the All-Star teams are also following a similar pattern to last year. Tim Cone of Barangay Ginebra leads the list with 28,110 votes, followed by Yeng Guiao of Rain or Shine with 11,494 votes.

Chito Victolero of Magnolia (7,180), TNT’s Jojo Lastimosa (3,572), and San Miguel’s Jorge Gallent (3,348) also received votes from the fans.

In the Rookies/Sophomores/Juniors side event, the fans have chosen Malonzo (16,638) and Calvin Oftana (13,234) as their top two picks.

Jeremiah Gray of Brgy. Ginebra (12,212), last year’s top rookie Justin Arana of Converge (11,620), and Tyler Tio of Phoenix (11,304) also received votes from the fans.

The initial 24-man list includes other players such as Calvin Abueva (10,606), Eric Camson (10,606), Oftana (10,330), Chris Newsome (10,252), Paul Lee (9,408), John Pinto (9,038), James Yap (8,800), Jayson Castro (8,568), Terrence Romeo (7,944), Mark Barroca (7,898), Gray (7,052), Von Pessumal (6,752), Marcio Lassiter (6,442), and Jio Jalalon (5,914).

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker